Agreements with other bodies

CIMA is working with a number of organisations around the world to promote management accounting. Two agreements give reciprocal membership to CPA Australia members and CMA Canada members.

CPA Australia

Find out more about the mutual recognition agreement (MRA) which we have with CPA Australia. 

CMA Canada

CMAs wanting to become CIMA members
CIMA members wanting to become CMA members

Are you CMA (Canada) wanting to become a CIMA member?

This agreement gives CMA Canada members preferred access to CIMA membership. Preferred access to membership helps organisations improve their market competitiveness and expand career opportunities for management accountants.

Please Note: Following the formation and launch of the Association of International Certified Professional Accountants by CIMA and the AICPA on 1 January 2017 (the “Effective Date”), existing CIMA members who have joined CIMA through this mutual recognition agreement up to the Effective Date (1 January 2017) will also be awarded the CGMA designation on a retrospective basis.

Any individuals joining CIMA via this route after the 1 January 2017 will not be entitled to use the CGMA designation until such time as agreements have been reached between the participating bodies.


  • You join a global network of business leaders specialised in management accountancy.
  • Greater job mobility, increasing your employability around the world.
  • You become a chartered management accountant, allowing you to use the initials ACMA/FCMA.
  • You are recognised as having a management qualification as well as an accountancy qualification.

The numerous other advantages include a dedicated jobs board, CPD resources, free events worldwide, and access to topical and innovative research.


CMA members will be eligible for associate membership in CIMA and enjoy the same benefits as CIMA members provided they meet the accreditation and practical experience requirements that have been established by CIMA.

To apply for CIMA membership, you will need the following documents:

- Date joined CMA Canada.
- date advanced to current status.
- date up to which current membership is paid.
- confirmation that you are not a member of CMA Canada by virtue of another MRA.
- confirmation you are not currently under any disciplinary sanctions or investigations and have not been subject to any disciplinary sanctions in the past five years.

Please note: When our assessors receive your application they must see that your CMA membership is paid up to at least 3 months in the future. Please take this into consideration when requesting your letter from CMA Canada and submitting your application to us.


You will need to make an application for CIMA membership and then pay an annual subscription fee. See the latest list of fees.

How to apply

Please email your full application as one PDF document (where possible) and email it to for processing. If you wish to pay your application fee by debit or credit card, please telephone our Global Engagement Centre on +44 (0) 208 849 2251 and one of our advisors can assist you in processing your payment

You can also send your application with the appropriate fee by post. However, please note that our UK office is currently closed due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic so there will be a significant delay if you choose to send your application by post.

Membership Applications
The Helicon
One South Place

Are you a CIMA member wanting to become a CMA (Canada) member?

CIMA members who qualify for membership with CMA Canada will have full rights to use the CMA designation.

To be eligible for membership in CMA Canada, CIMA members must apply to the CMA Canada society in the province or territory where they are living or working.

Applicants must demonstrate accreditation or certification requirements that are equivalent to the CMA Canada accreditation requirement, as well as satisfy admission requirements set out by the provincial or territorial society in which they live or work.

You can find out more on qualifying for the CMA designation from the CMA province or territory where you plan to work or reside. You will find a list of provincial and territorial CMA societies and further information on the provinces page of the CMA website