Changes to the CIMA Professional Qualification

Re-inventing finance for a digital world

In an increasingly digital world, rapid changes in technology are creating challenges for the business models of organisations. It is also making it difficult for business leaders and employees to create and preserve sustainable value.

It is imperative that finance professionals not only possess sound technical and financial skills, but can also understand how digitalisation is fundamentally changing business models and apply this insight to influence, lead and craft strategies creating value and long-term sustainability.

The 2019 Professional Qualification continues to bridge the skills gap of newly qualified finance professionals worldwide, meeting the employability needs of both business and people. In designing the updated syllabus, we set out to enhance the relevance to employers, ensure the rigour of the related examinations and align the learning experience to the real world.

What's changed?

View the changes on a subject by subject basis, comparing and understanding movement of syllabus topic areas from 2015 to 2019 syllabi.



  • E3 Strategic Management
  • P3 Risk Management
  • F3 Financial Strategy


  • E2 Project Management
  • P2 Advanced Management Accounting
  • F2 Advanced Financial Reporting


  • E1 Organisational Management
  • P1 Management Accounting
  • F1 Financial Reporting and Taxation

2019 New syllabus

Levels & subjects Changes

Amount of change

Least Most

The colour temperature represents the amount of syllabus changes in each subject.


The digital finance qualification

Transition arrangements

We've built a planner to deliver personalised transition advice based on your current progress through the qualification, and to help you chart the best course as we get closer to the transition from 2015 to 2019 syllabus.

Start planning


  • Structure of the qualification

    The CIMA Syllabus comprises of nine subjects that are organised in three pillars and three levels.

  • CGMA Competency Framework

    The CGMA Competency Framework is designed to help management accountants and their employers understand the knowledge requirements and assess the skills needed for both current and desired roles.

  • New: Exam Blueprints

    In an industry first, we have developed examination blueprints for all Objective Tests and Case Study assessments which will take the mystery out of the our examinations process and clearly articulate what will be assessed in CIMA exams.