Please make sure you are using a supported browser. To find out more click here.

Elections to Council


Retirements by Rotation

Notice is given that, the term of office for each Council member in the following CIMA Electoral Constituencies (EC) expires at the end of the Annual General Meeting in 2022, elections will be held in February 2022.  Nominations for candidates (Fellows) to fill the vacancies must be made by six or more members (three of whom must be Fellows) whose registered addresses are in the EC concerned.

EC   Current Member
EC1  Central London and North Thames James Owen
EC2  South West England and South Wales David Johnson
EC3   East Midlands and East Anglia  Sangeeta Freeman
EC3  East Midlands and East Anglia  Michael Lowney
EC4  West Midlands  Nick Jessett
EC5  North East England  Nic Davison*
EC6  North West England and North Wales  John Graham
EC8  Northern Ireland  Patrick Barr
EC9 Republic of Ireland Louise Connaughton
EC11 Central Southern England Mustafa Muchhala
EC14 South Asia Suresh Perera
EC15 North Asia Aidan Goddard
EC16 South East Asia Francis Chan
EC17 Europe, North Africa and Middle East Paul Wilhelmij
EC18 The Americas Martin Saxton

*Members not eligible to stand again, having served on Council for nine or more years.

Casual Vacancy EC11 Central Southern England

Notice is given that due to the election to Vice President of a Council member from Electoral Constituency 11 (Central Southern England) a new candidate is sought from EC11 to represent CIMA members on Council. The term of office will be until the close of the 2023 AGM, as prescribed by Byelaw 29. At that time, the successful candidate may stand for re-election for a further three-year term in accordance with Byelaw 20. Nominations for candidates (who must be Fellows) to fill this casual vacancy may be made by any six or more members (three of whom must be Fellows) whose registered addresses are in Area 11.

Nomination forms for candidates for election to Council are available to download here.  They may also be obtained from the Governance department at CIMA by emailing at Please read the guidelines, information on the role of a Member of Council carefully before completing the form.

The nomination must be received on the prescribed form by 23:00 GMT Monday 3, January 2022, and should be clearly marked for the attention of the Specialist, Governance.  A scanned copy of a signed and completed form is acceptable.

The Governance department will promptly acknowledge receipt of the nomination form, either through an automated process or by individual notification.  It is the candidate’s responsibility to ensure that their form has been received.  To avoid uncertainty, candidates who do not receive such confirmation should contact the Governance department directly (email: BEFORE the closing date.

If there is more than one candidate for a vacancy, a ballot will be conducted.  The Governance team will contact you if an election is required.