2010 syllabus professional exam information

Completing CIMA's professional exams (including relevant work experience) enables you to become a chartered management accountant.

You must have been exempt/passed certificate level before you can begin professional exams.


  • Three pillars of exams: operational, management and strategic.
  • Ten exams in total without exemptions
  • Operational and management exams can be taken in any order.
  • Strategic level taken after operational and management level passed.
  • You are advised to take no more than three exams at one sitting.
  • Pass mark is 50%.

Download the full syllabus (PDF 619KB) 

Main exam sittings

Main global exam sittings are in May and November each year, and are for all students worldwide.

2015 Professional Qualification assessment

How to enter

An explanation of the exam entry process.

Where and when

Find out where you can take exams and upcoming exam dates.

How much

See the current fees for exams.

On the day

Read all the information you require for the exam day.

After the exams

Find out information you require after the exams, including results, feedback and appeals.